Welcome from the school governing body

Stillness Junior school is managed by a governing body responsible for the strategic direction of the school. It is the role of the governors to appoint the headteacher and as such there is always one or two governors that have been trained in recruitment. Governors may also form part of a recruitment panel for other members of staff in the school, especially those in leadership. 

The governing body is responsbile for making sure the school's money is well spent, whether it be for resources in line with strategic priorities or ensuring that assets are used efficiently in accordance with financial resources. 

Governors discuss and approve relevant school policy documents and also ensure that the school provides the highest standard of education for every child.

Our governing body is made up of elected parents, elected staff, the head teacher, local authority governors approved by the mayor of Lewisham, and community governors appointed by the governing body. We have a full meeting at least once a term and there are several committees that meet regularly throughout the year.

We take part in training and meetings arranged by Lewisham Council. We have to read and understand many complex documents, take notes and prepare reports, make visits to the school and meet the school inspectors.

Like all school governors, we are unpaid volunteers who give a lot of time and energy to our duties. We try to represent the views of all those with an interest in the school, and we are always willing to consider your suggestions for improving the school.

Governors are elected throughout the year as and when there are vacancies.  Parents may apply to be a governor and these vacancies will be advertised on the website and on the parent notice board.

SJ Governor details 2016-17 - Updated Oct 2017.pdf

Register of Interests January 2018.pdf


Current Governors


Mrs Mitzi Nichol


Ms Emily Mackenzie  mailto:emilyjmackenzie@gmail.com

Vice Chair

Ms Kerry Christopher

Nominated by London Borough of Lewisham

Mrs Lucy Robertson

Co-opted Governors

Ms Cheryl Campbell

Ms Hillary Stallard

Ms Debra Lillistone-Squires

Elected by the Parents of Pupils attending the school

Mr Dominic Burdess

Mr Edward Telford

Elected by the staff of the school

Mrs Patrice Augustus-Brown


Ms Damaris Dodds